The Gatehouse of Corpus was completed, together with most of the rest of Front Quad, not long after the colleges foundation in 1516. The topmost storey of the side buildings was added in 1737, and the battlements are Victorian, while whole has been subject to restoration over the years, but the essential design is Tudor and the oak doors are apparently the original. William Vertue and William Est were the masons and Humphrey Coke the carpenter so we can thank them for a charming and well balanced composition. Given the colleges generous list of famous alumni it is extraordinary that the three niches have remained empty.
proceed to checkout
-------- OR --------